Wet dreams!

by Rachel Kendall

I was expecting greatness last night: flashes of light sizzling down the pane, torrential torrents, bass notes rumbling across an iron ore sky. Ok, maybe that’s an exaggeration. I was expecting a couple of thunder claps and a fizzle of lightening as per a usual British thunderstorm. But we didn’t even get that. We got rain though. It rained so much it dripped into my subconscious and entered my dreams…

It wasn’t my usual ‘dream-house’, the one I visit so often in my sleep, the one with such potential for both creative space and corner decay. This was somewhere else entirely and I’d come home to find it water-logged. The first thing I noticed was the sponginess of the carpet around the book case and the electrical wiring. Then I realised water was pouring from a pipe which was normally outside but for some reason had wormed its way in. My books were ruined. The water was rising over my shoes. Then I noticed the mouse. Half a white mouse, to be exact. The top half of a white mouse hollowed out and filled with water. Then the wolf, licking herself in a more feline than lupine manner, before her cubs joined her and they ran off into the night. It was dark outside by now. There was something else, too. Another animal but I don’t remember now what it was. I rang the landlord. He had more important things to do and said it wasn’t an emergency. I woke up to my daughter crying because she’d had a nightmare. It happens the cat had been jumping around on the noisy floorboards in her bedroom trying to catch a larger-than-I-like-in-my-house spider. The spider which ran into my bedroom after my zombienambulist staggering scared the cat. Daughter came into my bed after that and was soon snoring but I lay awake, too aware of the spider flexing its knuckled muscle.

The other house, the usual dream house, is always water-logged too. Rotting floor boards and blackened walls but only in one corner. Most of the house is beautiful, light, large. But this one corner… I know if I stand there the floor will collapse because the boards are so rotten. I wonder if this means something?

